Exterior front view of Nicholson House
A Relaxing Respite

Nicholson House at Beaujolais

Originally built as a private family home. Later converted to housing for the community. Our historic Mendocino inn has been lovingly restored to its roots in both family and community.

Nicholson House is the House Next Door. As part of the Beaujolais Mendocino family, Nicholson House provides bespoke Mendocino accommodations to complement the exquisite food and beverage offerings of the neighboring Beaujolais Property — the historic Café Beaujolais, the vibrant Brickery, and the cozy Waiting Room.

Your Home for Hospitality in Mendocino

Join us at Beaujolais Mendocino to make your simple moments the most special.

Exquisite Eateries
Intimate Celebrations
Nicholson House Beaujolais Property map

Get Away to Beaujolais

Enjoy a Luxury Escape in the Heart of Mendocino

Our Beaujolais property is located in the heart of the Mendocino Village. Here, you can enjoy a carefree coastal getaway surrounded by serenity and small-town charm. Relax in one of our luxurious rooms or suites, soak up the ocean air in our intimate gardens, or savor some seasonal cuisine and local libations at our on-site eateries.

Just outside our doors guests can enjoy other exceptional restaurants and charming shops, with walks to beautiful beaches, and just a short drive to wonderful wineries, lush forests, unique activities, and even more breathtaking scenery.

Explore the Area

Historical photo of a picnic
Step Back in Time
Our History

See Our Storied Past

Headstone for Nicholson in a graveyard in Mendocino

1887 – 1891
Theo H. Cramer and wife Mary buy the lot at 951 Ukiah St from Dr. W.A. McCornack for $250, and build their family home. Speculation suggests Nicholson House and the Café Beaujolais house may have been built by the same man, Pete Hansen.

1900
The then Cramer House is home to Theo H. Cramer (49, barber born in Germany) with wife Mary (37) and five children, Elsie (15), Nora (14), Bertha (12), Alvin (9), and Ruthie (8).

1903 – 1906
The Cramers leave Mendocino for South Park, Washington where Mr. Cramer subsequently kills himself. The family moves to Wisconsin.

1910 – 1919
The once Cramer House is now home to George A. Daniels (52 years), wife Mary (40), and children – Arthur (15), Eunice (13), Linwood (11), Geneve (6), and Winfield (3). Peter Hansen and family, the original builders and owners of the Café Beaujolais house, live next door during this time.

1920
The house is rented by the Nicholsons, previously of Little River – Alfred Nicholson (25), wife Anna M. (26), son Kenneth A. (6), brother Arthur Nicholson (29), and mother Eliza C. (65). “Allie” and “Art” both work at lumber camp. Allie is a fireman and Art is a sawyer.

1930
Home owner George Daniels dies. His children inherit the property and directly sell it to Art Nicholson. The Nicolson family resides in the house for at least 30 years.

1960
Well respected and loved resident, Allie Nicholson (66), takes his life with a rifle in the family home. He is survived by his wife and three adult sons. His suicide goes unexplained by the family, but he is remembered in the Mendocino Beacon by his many friends as a “…most friendly man [whose] presence at the Mendocino post office every week-day morning was the occasion for a get-together meeting in which he joined and discussed local matters with his friends.” ​

1976
Art Williams, Big River Lodge owner, purchases the house and adds dormers, front porch and entry, rebuilding the old family home as five independent “townhouse apartment” units in an effort to help relieve the local housing shortage.Williams also adds the Wilkinson/Cobb Gallery to the “far downstairs” of Nicholson House, and the housing units are utilized in part as an amenity for visiting Art Center students.

1979 – 1989
Norman Dennis McCrosky becomes the owner of Nicholson House. McCrosky builds the artisan water tower (never truly a water tower) and converts the property into a commercial office space, a massage studio, and eight long-term housing units (one he lives in).

1990’s
Under McCrosky the Nicholson House becomes a classic Mendocino bed and breakfast. The House is eventually sold to Judith Brown and run by Sweetwater Eco Spa as an adjunct to the neighboring property.

2020
Nicholson House is purchased by Peter and Melissa Lopez, now owners of the neighboring Café Beaujolais restaurant property. The entire property goes through an extensive refurbish and upgrade.​

2022
Nicholson House reopens as part of Beaujolais Mendocino, Luxury Accommodation at the House Next Door.

2024
Mollie B. Warren, General Manager and ‘creator and curator’ of Nicholson House, becomes part owner of the luxury boutique hotel, a testament to the Lopez Beaujolais family’s generosity and commitment to both community and authentic hospitality.